Booking Through Thursday – Visual

Hosted by Booking Through Thursday

So … the books that you own (however many there may be) … do you display them proudly right there in plain sight for all the world to see? (At least the world that comes into your living room.)

Or do you keep them tucked away in your office or bedroom or library or closet or someplace less “public?”

All the books that I have read and am keeping are on the huge bookcase in the livingroom where anyone can see them. All the books I’ve not yet read are on the shelves in the bedroom. This is simply because I don’t have room for all of them in the livingroom and I like to keep them separate for ease of choosing – if I want an old favourite, it’s in the livingroom, and if I want a new, unread adventure, it’s in the bedroom, waiting for me.

Xander has his own bookcase in his bedroom too, and it’s just as crammed with books as mine, even though he’s only two years old. Some of his books were mine when I was small, and I kept them…

When I’ve finished reading a book, it either gets moved into the livingroom (if I’m keeping it) or gets passed on to my sister, or a friend, or to a local library. I keep relatively few books these days, due to lack of space, and usually only keep certain authors and series, in hardback more often than not.

9 responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Visual

  1. Great answers! I love that you share books. Here is my answer: http://www.lisasworldofbooks.com/2011/04/booking-through-thursday.html

    • My sister gets her pick of them when I’m done, so we both get to read them. 😉 Then they go to our old school library (which is also a public library) which had its funding for buying new books cut a few years back. I figured that since that library was my one haven at school, I’d give a little something back. With the amount of books I get through, added to those my sister donates, we’re supplying quite a few. We must have donated almost 200 books between us so far. 🙂

  2. I keep meaning to seperate my books – ones I’ve read and ones that are yet to be read but it would be such a huge task it scares me a little bit.
    Sally.
    http://theelifylop.blogspot.com/2011/04/booking-through-thursday-12.html

  3. I like to show mine off. Check out my response for this week’s Booking Through Thursday.

  4. Great reply to share your books, it reduces the volume.

    Stop and see mine and my giveaways.

  5. I have books in more than one room but not really tucked away.
    A living room totally without books would feel strange to me.
    http://dawntreader-island2.blogspot.com/2011/04/btt-on-display-and-tucked-away.html

  6. I found you on the “Out of Your Comfort Zone” hop. You’re number 4 and I’m number 5. I’m so glad I did. It is eery how alike we seem (except you’re several years younger than me). I stayed home with my baby boys too, after trying to go back to work. I did Flylady (until I went back to work) and instead of my sister being my best friend, it was my cousin. Oh, and to comment on this post, I have 7 bookshelves in the living room with all my favorite read books and my tbr shelf is in my bedroom (on my dresser actually). I’m glad to have “met” you. Here’s where you can find me:

    http://bookbelle0819.blogspot.com/2011/04/ps-i-love-you-by-cecelia-ahern.html

    Belle