Teaser Tuesday – The Red Queen by Philippa Gregory

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Just do the following:

1. Grab your current read
2. Open to a random page
3. Share two “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
4. BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
5. Share the title and author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My teaser:

I  send my son Henry a little cart on wooden wheels, that he can pull along, for his Christmas present, and my husband gives me a shilling to send him for fairings. In return I give him a silver sixpence to send to the little Duke of Buckingham, Henry Stafford, and we do not speak of war, or of the queen’s march south at the head of five thousand murderous, dangerous Scots, stained like eager huntsmen with the blood of the rebel York, or of my belief that our house has triumphed again, and will come to victory next year, as it must since we are blessed by God.

– page 116, The Red Queen by Philippa Gregory

This is the second in The Cousins’ War series. I read The White Queen last year and got this, the sequel, with some of my Christmas money. Now I’m eagerly awaiting The Lady of the Rivers, which will tell the story of Jacquetta, the mother of Elizabeth Woodville (who married Edward IV and was the subject of the White Queen).

One response to “Teaser Tuesday – The Red Queen by Philippa Gregory