Green-Fingered Goddessness…

It’s been ten days since we decided to try being a little green-fingered and grow some of our own food (or at least attempt to gain something edible – LOL!). My track record with plants to date hasn’t been great, so I’m making a concerted effort to do things right…

On 16th March, Xan and I planted a little pot each of tomatoes and strawberries. The tomatoes are doing really well, but the strawberries seem to be taking their time deciding what they want to do. I think I can see the beginnings of one tiny shoot in their pot, so I’m hopeful they’re deciding to sprout and will soon take after the tomatoes…

That same day, we planted coriander, basil, chives and parsley in an herb planter (I got the whole kit as a Xmas gift). The coriander has taken hold really well already; the basil and chives are just peeking through the soil, and the parsley looks like it’s just starting to poke through too.

Today, I was in town with Xander and took him into the local pound shop to “choose a prize”. He did as he usually does and chose a book, but then spotted some veg-pots, picked up one each of sweet peppers and green beans, and said, “I want to plant them, Mummy. Want to grow them and eat them up!” So, because they were only a quid each, we bought them and planted them up this afternoon.

As a result of all this, we have the beginnings of a lovely little kitchen garden on our kitchen windowsill! Lets see if I can keep them all alive and gain a nice crop of various veggies!

 

One response to “Green-Fingered Goddessness…

  1. Pingback: More Planting… | Diary of a Domestic Goddess