Booking Through Thursday – Serial

Hosted by Booking Through Thursday

Series? Or Stand-alone books?

I like both! I have several authors whose works I collect, simply because I love their writing. I suppose most of the books I have in my permanent collection are part of a series, but I do have some stand-alone works too and some of those rank among my favourites of all time. The Stand by Stephen King is one notable stand-alone favourite – despite its heftiness at over 1000 pages, I’ve read it at least a dozen times and always find something new and fresh about it. I’m also a big fan of ben Elton’s writing and his are all stand-alones.

One the flip-side, some of the series I adore are Terry Pratchett’s Discworld novels , Kelley Armstrong’s Women of the Otherworld books, Simon Scarrow’s Roman series, and Stuart MacBride’s Logan McRae crime thrillers. Christopher Brookmyre has written both stand-alones and follow-ons, and I love them all too. Same with Philippa Gregory.

On an additional note, Good Omens by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman is a stand-alone and an awesome read, as is The Princess Bride by William Goldman.

I suppose it depends on the books – if they’re good, I’ll like them, irrespective of their being stand-alones or part of a series.

11 responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Serial

  1. Yep, same here. As long as they have brilliant stories I’ll go acquire them.

    Here’s my answer @ Whatever You Can Still Betray

  2. I love Kelley Armstrong. There are some authors whoses books I will buy no matter whether they are series or stand-alone books.
    Sally.
    http://theelifylop.blogspot.com/2011/03/booking-through-thursday-10.html

  3. I agree it depends on the book vs series. I like both. my BTT

  4. I like both too. My favorite series are things like Discworld where you follow different protagonists in different books and you don’t necessarily have to read the books in order: More at Mostraum Viewpoint

  5. Did you read the news that Good Omens will be made into a 4-part TV series?!?

    http://journal.neilgaiman.com/2011/03/from-ice-storm.html
    and
    http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/news/monty-python-writer-adapt-neil-168792

    Such a fun read (and listen if you get the audio version). My older son is currently reading it and constantly brings up funny passages.

    • I did indeed – when I first heard the news, I almost peed my pants with excitement! Looking forward to it – I realy hope they make a good job of it, as it’s one of my all-time faves. 🙂

  6. You cited great books here!

    For me, it is always stand-alone books. There are exceptions though. Check out those in my BTT: Headlines post!

  7. I like both because it all depends on the writing and how good the book is. I have series I really enjoy and stand-alones too … just like you 🙂

    My BTT

  8. I like both, but books in a series more. Here is my answer for this week’s Booking Through Thursday.

  9. I like both ,as long as it keeps you reading.

  10. Women of the Otherworld was in my anwer today, too!