Fridge Soup

It’s getting towards the end of the week and you have stuff in the fridge that need to get used up before you go grocery shopping again in a day or two. What do you do? Well, if you’re anything like me, you make Fridge Soup for lunch!

I’m a huge soup fan – I make it all the time, winter, spring, summer and autumn, and I always love it. And Xander seems to be taking after me, as he often asks for soup too.

Today I had a bunch of peppers, a small leek and a couple of sweet potatoes that were begging to be used, so with the addition of a small onion, a little garlic, and a couple of stock cubes, here’s my Fridge Soup of the Day. Amounts are approximations, as they were what I had in the fridge at the time, so feel free to mix it up:

Roasted Peppers and Sweet Potato Soup
Ingredients:
3 peppers (yellow, orange and red)
2 medium sweet potatoes
1 small leek
1 small onion
2 cloves garlic
2 chicken stock cubes
water to cover
seasoning to taste
a little olive oil

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to around 200C.
  2. Cut peppers in half and remove seeds. Sprinkle with a little olive oil and roast in the oven for around 30 minutes.
  3. Slice the leek and onion, crush the garlic, and saute gently in a little olive oil.
  4. Peel and dice the sweet potatoes and add to the onions, leek and garlic.
  5. Boil the kettle and add enough boiling water to cover the vegetables.
  6. Add a couple of stock cubes and simmer till the peppers are ready.
  7. Add the peppers and simmer a few more minutes till everything is tender.
  8. Puree everything with a hand blender, adding more water to adjust to desired consistency.
  9. Season to taste and serve with a crusty bread roll.

Xan and I have just had a HUGE bowl each for lunch and it was delicious, if I say so myself. I made enough for us to have some more for lunch tomorrow too (it’s often even better the next day and it usually thickens up a bit in the fridge too, so you can add a little more water when you heat it up).

Go take a look in your fridge and make your own version of Fridge Soup – and I’d love to know your recipe and how it turns out, so be sure to leave a comment and a link if you do!

3 responses to “Fridge Soup

  1. Sounds yum!

    I often make fridge soup – the last one I made was Gem squash, chilli, onion and coconut – which was also yum!

  2. Pingback: Focaccia col Formaggio | Diary of a Domestic Goddess