Teaser Tuesday – The Medusa Project: The Set-Up

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Just do the following:

1. Grab your current read
2. Open to a random page
3. Share two “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
4. BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
5. Share the title and author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My teasers:

Everything I’d done had been for Ketty. And it had all been for nothing.

page 108, The Medusa Project: The Set-Up by Sophie McKenzie

I kept running through our options. There must be some way to use my telekinesis to escape this little room, but I just couldn’t see my way past the lock on the door and the bars on the window.

– page 193, The Medusa Project: The Set-Up by Sophie McKenzie

This is the first in the young adult Medusa Project series about a group of teens who have unusual abilities as a result of an experiment done on them while in the whom which altered their genetic make-up and left them ticking time-bombs, waiting for puberty to trigger whatever it is that they can do – telekinesis, telepathy, visions of the future, or the ability to shield ones-self from harm. Of course, there are people out there who would use those abilities to their own advantage – and stop at nothing to get Nico and his friends…

I’m about three-quarters of the way through and it’s not bad at all. It’s a little predictable in places, and sometimes I think the characters are a little too naive, but it’s a decent enough read and I’m enjoying it. Considering I picked it up for £1.50 in Asda, it was a steal and I might even consider picking up the rest of the series (or perhaps borrow them from the library).

5 responses to “Teaser Tuesday – The Medusa Project: The Set-Up

  1. I’ve had my eye on Sophie McKenzie’s books for a while now but haven’t got them. I think I should finally get one and give it a go.
    Sally.
    http://theelifylop.blogspot.com/2011/03/teaser-tuesday-9.html

    • Well, I just finished it about half an hour ago and it’s not bad at all, so give it a try. you could always get it out of the library to save the risk of spending and then finding you don’t enjoy it. 😉

  2. These teasers sound fascinating…what an intriguing book this must be.

    Here’s MY TUESDAY MEMES POST