February Book Round-Up

So, in January, I finished five books, and in February I finished five more – well on track to hitting my target of 52 this year. If I can continue to finish five each month, I’ll overshoot and reach 60 – hurrah!

RATINGS:
Like a Star @ heaven Dire – don’t waste your time
Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven OK, but nothing to write home about
Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven Very good – worth a read
Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven Excellent
Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven Superb – read it immediately!

BOOKS FINISHED:
6. Stuart MacBride – Shatter the Bones (Logan McRae 7) Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
MacBride just keeps getting better and better! Although I managed to work out part of it (I pride myself on usually being able to do this – I’m very observant!), it still managed to surprise me, which is exactly what I want from crime thrillers. This latest installment taps into the reality TV/talent show phenomenon and is really quite gruesome in parts, but never gratuitously so. Love it!

7. Seth Grahame-Smith – Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
A completely brilliant read! A wonderful combination of fact and fiction, so cleverly woven you’d be forgiven for believing it to be the complete truth. Heartily recommended for fans of mash-ups, alternative histories, biographies, horrors and comedies – it surely cannot fail to impress if you enjoy any of those! I absolutely loved it and was genuinely sorry to come to the end. It’s very cleverly done and written in such a way that you could almost believe every word of it is true…

8. Richard Laymon – No Sanctuary Like a Star @ heaven
In short, this novel is utter rubbish – a completely pointless collection of gore and sexual perversion with little real flow and, for me, zero enjoyment. It also ended very abruptly and without any real climax. I read a lot of Laymon as a teen, but grew out of them pretty quickly. This is one of the worst of his I’ve read.

9. Richard Castle – Naked Heat (Nikki Heat 2) Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
Like its prequel, this will never be considered high literature, but it’s certainly a lot of fun and manages to keep one guessing most of the time. It’s a really quick read that doesn’t take up much brain action, but it’s highly enjoyable fare and a must for fans of Castle. Oh, and there’s a third installment due out later this year – yippee!

10. Terry Pratchett – I Shall Wear Midnight Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
Oh, Mr. Pratchett, how I do love your books! The Witches are some of my favourite characters, and Tiffany Aching is a wonderful part of that set. This is her fourth outing and it just keeps getting better and better. I love that Tiffany is growing up and that we also get to see something of  what happened to a character introduced to us very early in the Discworld series…

BOOKS STARTED (carrying over to March):

Alan Hutcheson – Boomerang (FOR REVIEW)
I actually started this one back in January, but it started off as my bathroom book and then, once I’d finished No Sanctuary, it got bumped up to being my book bag. As I’m not all that far into it, it’s not really fair to comment on it just yet, but watch this space…

