Day 10 – Stop the Cavalry by Jona Lewie

In 1980, Stop the Cavalry by Jona Lewie peaked at #3 in the charts.

I firmly believe that had the odious little squits of St. Winifred’s School Choir shut their traps (There’s No-One Quite Like Grandma was at #1) and  John Lennon not been murdered on 8th December that year, triggering the re-release of Just Like Starting Over (which was at #2,), it would have taken the #1 spot.

I really wish the lisping urchins of that horrid school choir had never been born (particularly uncharitable and un-Christmas-like of me, I know) as that song was an abomination. And I never liked John Lennon anyway (it was still tragic that his life was cut short).

It’s my opinion that Jona Lewie is the singer of the greatest Christmas song ever, and it should have got to the coveted top spot.

So why isn’t it the song I’ve chosen to share on The Big Day? Well, I’ve chosen songs that specifically relate to Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. In the meantime, I’ll leave you with Mr. Lewie’s eternal soldier…

Comments are closed.