Day 8 – Ring Out Solstice Bells by Jethro Tull

As today is the Winter Solstice, it’s time to share one of my all-time favourite winter songs. No, it’s not technically a Christmas song, but it seems to get included on all the Christmas compilation albums anyway.

The song is Ring Out Solstice Bells by Jethro Tull, which was first released in 1976 (the year I was born, which is entirely coincidental, I assure you!).

The reason I love this song is that it’s a Christmas song without being a Christmas song, if you see what I mean. Being a Pagan (albeit a particularly non-religious one), it’s the one song that actually refers to the Pagan celebration of the winter solstice. It is one song that gets played at this time of year which caters to the non-Christmas celebrating brigade, whilst still appealing to those who love all things Christmassy, keeping everyone happy. Except my hubby, who hates this song.

Tough. I like it. 🙂

Anyway, love it or loathe it, it’s a pop-rock classic combining guitars, a flute and hand-clapping.

Comments are closed.