It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

Hosted by Sheila at One Person’s Journey through a World of Books.

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading, is where we gather to share what we have read this past week and what we plan to read this week.  It is a great way to network with other bloggers, see some wonderful blogs, and put new titles on your reading list.

Recently Finished:
Innocent Traitor by Alison Weir – 4/5
At first, the multi-viewpoint nature of this novel meant I was constantly checking back to the beginning of the chapter to remind myself which character was telling the story, but I quickly got used to it and enjoyed it immensely. It’s a sensitive portrayal of a young girl cruelly used by ambitious parents and ruthless Lords in a battle for supreme power and, as it says on the front cover, if you don’t cry at the end, you’re heartless. I wept unashamedly.

Currently Reading:
No Sanctuary by Richard Laymon
Despite managing to find a decent passage for my Teaser Tuesday, this one is failing to impress. I quit reading Richard Laymon books years ago because they were all very “same-y” and this is no different. I’m about 1/3rd of the way through and I’m expecting lots of sex and blood and gore, which will probably made the inside of my head feel dirty. It’s currently in my bag for reading on the bus when I’m on my way home from work.

Coming Up Next:
Absolution by Caro Ramsay
I actually got this as a Secret Santa gift last Xmas and have meant to read it ever since! I was originally going to read Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger, but then I realised it could slot nicely into my What’s in a Name Reading Challenge, so I’m leaving that one till next year.

So, here I am ready to get into a good bit of crime fiction – let the crucifixion commence!

7 responses to “It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

  1. Sounds like a great week

  2. Alison Weir is an author I haven’t yet read…this might be someone I could try for the Awesome Authors Challenge. I discovered such good ones last year during this challenge.

    Here’s my Monday:

    http://laurelrainsnow.wordpress.com/2010/12/20/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-dec-20/

  3. I am so glad that I am not the only one that has book gifts from last Christmas that they have yet to read…. 🙂 I received Fallen from my hubby and well… lets just say it is still a goal to read by the end of this year. 🙂

    Absolution sounds amazing!

    • I also got Her Fearful Symmetry last Xmas from a friend, but that one will DEFINITELY be read in 2011 as part of the What’s in a Name? Reading Challenge. 🙂

  4. All new titles for me and they look so good!!!

    HAPPY READING!!!

    Dollycas

  5. I am looking forward to read your review about Absolution. Seem interesting

    happy reading and have a great holiday

    My “what are you reading?”