Day 1 – The Power of Love by Frankie Goes to Hollywood

Welcome to Kell’s Twelve Musical Days of Christmas – let the music play!

There might actually be quite a few people who say I’m cheating just a bit, right from the start, because my first song in my Twelve Musical Days of Christmas isn’t actually a Christmas song at all…

The Power of Love by Frankie Goes to Hollywood was released in late November 1984, and hit the #1 spot early in December. I think it would have stayed there for Christmas too, if it hadn’t been for Band Aid’s monstrously bad charity hit single which knocked it off the top spot for the Big Day.

Anyway, the song is beautiful and the video, which showcases the First Christmas, is absolutely stunning. It’s remained a favourite of mine all this time, and I don’t think it will ever be knocked off my Christmas List.

Comments are closed.