Stitchy Saturdays – Have yourself a stitchy little Christmas…

Each Saturday, I will feature either something I’m currently stitching, something I’ve just finished stitching, or something I’ve just designed. I hope you’ll all join me in displaying some of your own work and leaving a link to your post in the comments below.

 

I’ve been beavering away creating some seasonal designs over the last few months for my Kincavel Krosses design blog…

There are three small motifs just the right size for Xmas cards and all three of them are quick to stitch, so if you find you’re running short of time you can rest easy in the knowledge that you can stitch these three up quick as you like.

Noel Noel and Seasons Greetings are both blackwork; Xmas is cross stitch, but as simple as can be. If you have an afternoon or a couple of evenings free, you can have these done in no time at all.

The Winter Snow ATC is also small enough to use on a card or as a decoration (if you use a higher count of fabric), or you could use a larger count if you fancy it as a sampler or decorative throw cushion. And the Bah Humbug Blackwork Decoration could also be used on a card as a quick stitch.

Looking for a gift idea for the bookworm in your life? Then the Winter Quaker Bookmark might be just the ticket. This would look great stitched in a metallic blue or silver, or in a pretty variegated floss. I actually designed this with a mind to stitch it for myself – one can never have too many bookmarks!

If you’re a fan of subversive samplers, then you might like this modern twist on a traditional style. The Bah! Humbug Christmas Subversive Sampler is a fun and quirky festive design with Christmas trees, sprigs of holly and Quaker stars in seasonal red and green. And it doesn’t take long to stitch – just four days after I posted the design, Ali-cat had finished her Humbug hanging and it looks great (you can see it in the Gallery of Stitches).

However, if you prefer something a little more traditional, rather than subversive, there’s the Deck the Halls Christmas Sampler, featuring a line from the popular song and surrounded by a border of holly sprigs.

I hope you’ll enjoy these designs and perhaps stitch a few of them. If you do, please send me a photo so I can include it in the Gallery of Stitches.

Comments are closed.