International Buy Nothing Day (26th & 27th Nov)

In North America, Buy Nothing Day is Friday 26th November.

In the UK and International, Buy Nothing Day is Saturday 27th November

If you worry that consumerism equals a whole load of waste that damages the environment, you might be interested to hear about Buy Nothing Day. It’s the simplest concept in the world; for one day only don’t buy anything. It’s easy – you just don’t go to the shops, you don’t spend any money, you don’t come home with a load of new stuff. For one day you’ll be saving your money and saving the environment, because if you’re not spending money, chances are you’re not going to use the car to go to the shops (saving on petrol and its damaging effect) and you’re not bringing home a lot of packaging that will be going into the waste.

Do your pocket and the world a favour and BUY NOTHING, just for one day! And when you DO buy something (the day before, the day after, or whenever), ask yourself the following questions (from Buy Nothing Day UK site):

  • Do I need it?
  • How many do I already have?
  • How much will I use it?
  • How long will it last?
  • Could I borrow it from a friend or family member?
  • Am I able to clean and/or maintain it myself?
  • Will I be able to repair it?
  • Am I willing to?
  • Have I researched it to get the best quality for the best price?
  • How will I dispose of it when I’m done using it?
  • Are the resources that went into it renewable or non-renewable?
  • Is it made from recycled materials, and is it recyclable?

Even if you do go out, there are LOADS of ways to not spend money. Here are just a few:

  • Don’t get on the bus or use the car – go for a walk instead
  • Don’t go to the pub – invite your friends round for drinks instead
  • Don’t go out to a restaurant – have a home-cooked meal instead
  • Don’t buy a new outfit – swap an outfit with a friend (or have a swap-meet with loads of friends and get several new outfits for free!)
  • Check out what’s available for FREE near you – visit museums and art galleries, or if it’s a nice day, go to the park and have a kick-about with a ball

If you really cannot go one day without buying something, go to Amazero and “buy” the New and Improved Nothing.

 

 

3 responses to “International Buy Nothing Day (26th & 27th Nov)

  1. This year on the 26th we are subscribing to buy nothing day , we do not “need” or really even “want” anything that is on sale as have probably 2 of everything now! Last time we bought on “Black Friday” we were not even thinking about it being the “biggest shopping day of the year” and were just in true need of a new refrigerator as our old one was slowly going out and so 6 years ago when my Husband was off we got one on sale and with no finance charges so it was a good deal all around….
    Same day however we also bought a new vehicle which blew all the savings for the entire 6 years, we have one payment left at the end of December to and it will be ours……

    New clothes by swapping with friends, no need I wear all my clothes until they cannot be worn anymore… And as far as going out to eat tomorrow we have so much turkey and side dishes that would just be foolish to waste it!

    jackie >_<

  2. I saw a very good deal for jeans yesterday and I asked the very same questions… I’m glad I resisted the good deal of buying something I don’t need… 🙂