W… W… W… Wednesdays

WWW Wednesdays are hosted by MizB over at Should Be Reading. To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

* What are you currently reading?
* What did you recently finish reading?
* What do you think you’ll read next?

My answers:
What are you currently reading?
The Secret Five and the Stunt Nun Legacy by John Lawrence
I’ve been sent this one for review, so it got bumped to the top of my “to read” pile. It’s a parody on all the old Famous Five / Secret Seven type books I used to read as a kid, so I hope it will appeal to my sense of humour.

Single in the City by Michelle Gorman
This is another one I’ve been sent for review. After reading a lot of Poe (which I’ve not been enjoying at all), and then a war story, a lighthearted chick-lit could be just the ticket to brighten things up a bit. I don’t read a lot of chick-lit, but I do occasionally enjoy them, so I hope this one will be worth a giggle or two.

The Tell-Tale Heart, The Masque of the Red Death, and The Raven by Edgar Allan Poe
Three shorter stories this week to finish my Month of Poe. I’m most looking forward to the last two.

I loved the old Hammer Horror film of The Masque of the Red Death, so I hope I’ll enjoy the story too. And I hope I’m not expecting too much of The Raven, as I know a few people who rate it very highly.

We shall see…

What did you recently finish reading?
The Fall of the House of Usher by Edgar Allan Poe
Part of my Month of Poe. Still not impressed, I’m afraid…

Still not getting on very well with Poe, but am hoping that the three shorter short stories I’ll be reading this week will appeal more for being only a couple of installments each. You can see what I thought of it HERE.

The First Casualty by Ben Elton
I am so impressed with Ben Elton! I mean, I’ve loved almost all his books, but they’ve all had a humourous edge (even the darkest ones), and this one is played completely straight. It’s beautifully written, touching and harsh by turns, and grabs you right from the start, refusing to let go till you reach the end. I hope Elton will write more serous novels in the future.

What do you think you’ll read next?
Innocent Traitor by Alison Weir
I’m a HUGE fan of historical fiction set during the Tudor period. I planned on starting this one this very week, but then a couple of books arrived for review and I had to bump those up in its place, so Innocent Traitor will have to wait till I’m done with them…

 

Join me tomorrow for
Booking Through Thursday…

17 responses to “W… W… W… Wednesdays

  1. A very wide variety! I’d like to try some Alison Weir, and while chicklit was never my favored genre, I’ve been enjoying quite a few of them in the last couple years myself! Hope it’s a good one!

    My WWW is here if you’d like to stop by!

  2. You are quite the reader, I’m more into light reading, be it mysteries, chick-lit or westerns. It looks like you enjoy a lot of variety in your reading.

  3. Oh, wow, a month of Poe? Yes, you deserve a chick-lit. 😉 I recently read The Redhead series and really liked them to my surprise. You’ve already visisted my WWW, but I’ll leave it again. I did add commentary this morning. lol
    http://ataleofmanyreviews.blogspot.com/2010/11/www-wednesday-1.html

    • Yes, the Month of Poe is something of an experiment. I’m not really enjoying his style very much, but I’m sticking with it. I plan on doing another “month of…” in the future – I just haven’t yet decided who or what it will be… 🙂

  4. Give you a lot of credit for reading Poe for fun. I think I would feel like I did when I HAD to read it in school.

  5. I haven’t read anything from Poe… Happy reading & have a great week!

  6. Happy Reading! My WWW Wedn post is here.

    Happy Holidays,
    ~Zakiya

  7. 1. What are you currently reading?
    Expiation by Greg Messel

    2. What did you recently finish reading?
    The Trophy Bride’s Tale by Cyrilla Barr

    3. What do you think you’ll read next?
    The Lodestone Book One: The Sea of Storms by Mark Whiteway

  8. I’m intrigued by Innocent Traitor … it sounds like a really good bit of historical fiction … ALSO I love your blog name! Happy Reading!

  9. Great variety! Love Poe–hope you’re enjoying!

    Here’s mine: http://myreadersblock.blogspot.com/2010/11/www-wednesday.html

  10. I also plan on reading The Innocent Traitor at some point-I love the Tudor period!

  11. Innocent Traitor looks great! Another book to add to my wish list 🙂 Thanks for the suggestions!

  12. The Secret Five book does sound like a lot of fun! I used to read the Famous Five books to my son….he’s kind of outgrown that.

    Thanks for stopping by!

  13. Innocent traitor sounds good!