Stitchy Saturday – Subversive Samplers

Each Saturday, I will feature either something I’m currently stitching, something I’ve just finished stitching, or something I’ve just designed. I hope you’ll all join me in displaying some of your own work and leaving a link to your post in the comments below.

 

Many people think of cross stitching as something particularly old-fashioned; something that old ladies do to fill their spare time, and not something fun and fashionable for younger people – men included. That’s all changing now, with designers creating charts that appeal to everyone and show a sense of humour too.

Some of my favourite designs are samplers, but I have a special place in my heart for the fun new twist on them – Subversive Samplers! These often look like traditional samplers, but feature unusual words and phrases, sometimes using “sweary words”, but just as often not. They catch the eye and then make you look again and laugh (or at least smile a little).

I’ve been beavering away on lots of different designs lately, but I have to admit, I just love the quirkiness of the Subversive Sampler and can see me churning out more and more of them in the future!

Click on the pictures to be taken directly to those designs at my Kincavel Krosses blog, and maybe you’ll stick around and check out some of my other designs too…

Comments are closed.