Movie Mondays – Tron Legacy

Every Monday I’ll post about a movie I’ve seen (whether  recently or some time ago), or a video I’ve shot myself (perhaps even more than one!). I hope you’ll all join in and post a comment with a link back to your own Movie Mondays posts.

Today I actually want to post about a movie I haven’t yet seen – Tron Legacy.

As a kid, I watched Tron. I was only 6 years old when it first came out in 1982, but I didn’t see it in the cinema, so I would have been about 8 or 9 years old when it first played on television (back then we only had four channels to watch, but there always seemed to be something good on!), probably around Christmas (when ALL the great films were on!).

I was enchanted by the computer-generated world that sucked Jeff Bridges (and all the viewers) in. The graphics were amazing for the time and they still mostly hold up today. I think simplicity was the key – they didn’t over-do it and stuck only to what they could do and make it look good, rather than reaching too far and making a bad job of it. The storyline was pretty great too. I must have watched that film at least a dozen times over the years and I still love it.

We’ve waited twenty-eight years for the sequel, but now its time has finally come. Tron Legacy will be released next month.

Even better, it will be playing in 3D in IMAX cinemas.

Dale and I have decided that our early Christmas present to each other will be to see this much-anticipated film in an IMAX cinema. The closest one is in Glasgow, so we’ll have to make a day of it, but It’s just got to be worth it!

From the look of things in the trailer, Disney have been very wise in that they’ve kept to the same look and feel of the original film. Yes, the graphics are updated using the far superior CGI we now have available, but the designs all look to be based on the original concept, which is bound to keep all the old fans happy. They have also kept Jeff Bridges (without whom there could be no Tron Legacy, as far as I’m concerned). And the plot appears to be a very natural follow-on from the original – they’ve been very clever in making sure the old fans will be more than happy to go and see this follow-up to a film that has become something of a modern classic.

To top it all off, they have cast one of my favourite British actors – Michael Sheen. In the trailer, he looks decidedly Bowie-esque and I am just DYING to see him in action (I have something of a crush on him, really). As if that wasn’t enough, Daft Punk have been drafted in to do the soundtrack and it sounds all kinds of AWESOME!

So, without further ado, here is Daft Punk’s Derezzed, showcasing what I suspect will be my Film Of The Year – Tron Legacy. It just doesn’t get any cooler than this!

2 responses to “Movie Mondays – Tron Legacy

  1. I’m looking forward to it as well.

    Unfortunately, my local IMAX was flooded earlier this year and won’t reopen in time for Tron.

  2. That’s a shae, Michael. I hope you’ll get to see it anyway.