Booking through Thursday… Skeletons!

What reading skeletons do you have in your closet? Books you’d be ashamed to let people know you love? Addiction to the worst kind of (fill in cheesy genre here)? Your old collection of Bobbsey Twin Mysteries lovingly stored behind your “grown-up” books? You get the picture … come on, confess!

OK, I confess – I love children’s books! I have quite a collection of them and I can’t get around it by saying they’re Xander’s because I had them for some time before he was born and they’re a tad too advanced for a 2-year-old. My favourites are the Artemis Fowl books by Eoin Colfer and the Edge Chronicles by Paul Stewart and Chris Riddell – actually, the Edge Chronicles pip Artemis Fowl to the post as I adore both the stories and the illustrations. I’m hoping Xan will love them as much as I do!

I also still adore The Chronicles of Narnia by C S Lewis, and The Snow Spider Trilogy by Jenny Nimmo – they are such cracking stories and so beautifully written that they’re winners every time.

Last, but not least, honorable mention must go to Ronia, The Robber’s Daughter by Astrid Lindgren – I must have read it twenty times at least and I never get tired of it.

Of course, I also have the complete set of Harry Potter, but I have the “adult cover” versions, because they were prettier than the children’s ones and I like thinks to look nice on my shelf.

At one point, I became a reviewer for a site that only dealt with children’s books, and I spent many happy hours turning the pages and being completely engrossed. Sadly, the site is no longer in existence, or I’d still be reviewing for them now and feeding my addiction!

 

ETA: I’m not actually ashamed of any of these books really – they’re all proudly displayed on the bookcase in my livingroom, but it was the closest I could come to a “guilty pleasure” kind of thing – LOL!

13 responses to “Booking through Thursday… Skeletons!

  1. Just wanted to ask, have you stopped by my blog to look at the chart?
    Thanks!

  2. I LOVE The Chronicles of Narnia. I bust them out every few years and reread them all over again. 🙂
    Stop by The Crowded Leaf and join in on my new meme, What Were They Thinking?!

  3. Ana Luisa – I’ve just seen your design – I love it! Left a comment on your blog. 😉

    Alayne – I’ll pop along just now and take a look at that meme. 🙂

  4. I love children’s picture books. Have you ever noticed how wonderful some of the artwork is in those things? Great BTT and I don’t see a skeleton in there!
    Here’s mine:
    http://harrischanningauthor.blogspot.com/2010/10/booking-through-thursday.html

  5. I love children’s books, and YA, but I don’t feel that they’re skeletons–I own up to reading them. Also, since I have kids, I feel it’s part of my job to read with them, so it’s also my duty, lol!

  6. I love children’s books too. Here’s my BTT

  7. Thanks, Kell, for your comment! 🙂

  8. They are all great books, nothing to be ashamed of or hide from 🙂

  9. I also love children books…but I am more into Manga tho.

    Thank you for visiting earlier 🙂

  10. Thanks for all your comments, guys. 🙂

  11. I’m not into children’s books and don’t really have any books that I’m ashamed of.

  12. I’m going to be reading The Chronicles of Narnia for the first time at the end of November–it’s going to be a reading challenge, Narnia Week.

  13. The Chronicles are wonderful – they’re all-time favourites of mine (apart from A Horse and HIs Boy, which I’m not so keen on, but I really do love the rest of them!). I hope you’ll enjoy them as much as I do. 🙂