Putting Pen To Paper

I used to do a fair bit of writing. Then again, I used to have a lot more time on my hands than I do these days! Back then, I wasn’t a busy Stay-At-Home-Mum and my work day was only from nine till five, and I could write in my lunch hour, and I got the weekends off. I had other pastimes too, reading being the main one, but I had plenty of time to put pen to paper when inspiration took hold. It was mostly short stories and book reviews that got written, but I also wrote a regular column for a Pagan magazine called Dragonswood.

Things happened. Life got in the way. I had a baby, quit my job, took up cross stitching and designing, kept on reading – and I quietly forgot to keep writing.

Last week I came across the Dragonswood website and forum once more. It had been a few years since I’d last visited and they had revamped the site, so I had to re-register, but it was nice to see so many familiar usernames still around and wonderful to get a very warm “welcome home” from many of them.

Then several things happened all at once. Chris (who runs the site) announced that there would be an issue of Dragonswood Magazine released in time for Yule, and calling for submissions. I posted saying I had thought of taking up writing again, and could perhaps come up with something for an edition some time next year, but probably not for this one.

Then I heard a song on the radio that sparked an idea for an article!

I saw down and knocked out a short article with surprising speed, and after proof-reading, editing and tidying things up a bit, I submitted it!

I’ve always been a big believer in things happening for a reason, and perhaps my deciding to revisit an old forum playground of mine at this particular time was just meant to be – perhaps it was supposed to spark me back into writing.

I’m already running several more ideas around in my head as possibilities for future articles, so it may have been the kick-start I needed to put pen to paper!

Oh, and my article, Spellcasting In a Pinch, has been accepted for publication in the Yule issue of Dragonswood Magazine – I’m chuffed to ribbons!

Comments are closed.