Fancy a change?

I dyed my hair again the other day and it wasn’t until several hours later that I realised I’ve changed my hair a fair bit this year – I always just fancy a change. Here’s what I’ve done over the past year:

End 2009 – beginning of 2010
Mid-brown, asymmetrical.

I had decided to go back to my natural colour, but when I put the dark-blonde dye on my white-blonde hair, it went lilac (I have a picture of that somewhere, but I can’t find it – I’ll post it when I do!).* It wouldn’t have been so bad if the colour had been even, but it looked like what might happen if you accidentally washed your white silk shirt with your new indigo jeans – mottled. So I had to go back to the shop (wearing a hat to cover the hair disaster) and buy a mid-brown dye to put on top.

March 2010
Dark brown, bob with fringe.

I decided to grown my hair out and got it cut into a bob with a fringe so it would grow evenly. I also put a darker brown through it for more shine. I wasn’t altogether happy with the cut, though, as I have a cowlick at the front-left and the fringe would never sit quite right. That reminded me why I hadn’t had a fringe since I was about 12 years old – it just looks wrong on me!

June 2010
White-blonde with a blue streak, cropped.

I got sick of waiting for my hair to grow, so I got it cropped again – very short and tousled. I also got sick of being a brunette and got hold of some Manic Panic toner, so I bleached it, put the toner on to take out some more of the gold-tones, and then put Manic Panic Midnight Blue in the front. I loved it, but it was hard to control where the blue went and it faded very quickly to a turquoise colour and very shortly afterwards was gone completely. I really couldn’t be bothered to keep up the coloured streak – I just don’t have the time!

July 2010
White blonde, cropped.

This is how it looked once all the blue had come out – just a month and there was no trace of the blue. You can also see that my hair grows quickly as its looking a bit longer in the front. I tousled it up and touched up my roots to go to see Rocky Horror with Leni (the tickets were my birthday gift to her as she turned 30 in May and we both love the show so much I just HAD to get us front-row tickets!). Incidentally, Frank N Furter noticed me and complimented me on my hair, which made my night!

August 2010
Red, growing out.

By August, I’d decided to try being a red-head again. I first died my hair auburn when I was 15 and it was varying shades of red (from auburn to scarlet) for the next ten years. I decided to let my hair grow out a little more too.

September 2010
Pink, growing out.

As a result of putting red directly onto white-blonde, the colour faded out faster than usual, but turned a gorgeous shade of candyfloss pink which I loved! I never thought I’d see the day when I liked pink on me, but there you go!

October 2010
Purple, asymmetric.

A couple of weeks back, I decided to go back to my asymmetric cut and re-dyed the red, but it wasn’t lasting, so I decided on another change. The shade is called Damson Wine and it really is a gorgeous deep purple shade (I chose this pic because it showed the colour best – apologies for the “mug shot” pose, though – I took this photo myself on my phone). And yes, I really am that pale (OK, it’s enhanced by the flash, but it’s not far off the real-life colour – you can tell because my eyes are still blue) – it’s getting into winter now, so I lose what little colour the summer gave me pretty quickly. I’m chosing to think of this as my “winter plumage” – a darker colour for the darker months. I think I’ll stick with the plum shades till at least the new year…

So, what do you do when you fancy a change?

 

* ETA: I found the pic of the lilac hair disaster, so here, as promised, it is!


4 responses to “Fancy a change?

  1. I have to say I have liked all of the colours you have chosen, you go with the norm, I like that about you, looking forward to the next colour 🙂

  2. Thanks, Paula. 🙂

  3. lucybirdbooks

    I think I like the purple best Kell 🙂

  4. Thanks, Lucy. 🙂