ATCs For September

Group: Cross Stitch ATCs
Theme: Flower Power
Stitched by: Me!
Sent to: Lorraine Grimshaw, Swansea, Wales
Information: The main part of this Assisi rose design is stitched in a variegated floss, but the backstitching and border are stitched in rose-scented DMC (the fabric is white 18-count aida). The backing card has a pale blue floral design and I cut the edges with fancy-blade scissors for the scalloped effect. Finally, I finished the ATC with some rose-coloured ribbon and pearls.

The design is a freebie from Needlework Tips and Techniques.

Group: Cross Stitch ATCs
Theme: Letter B
Stitched by: Me!
Sent to: Lynn Stevens, Surrey, UK
Information: I liked the simplicity of this art nouveau letter with the highly stylised rose. It also gave me another chance to stitch with my rose-scented DMC! The letter itself, and the backstitching on the rose, is in Belle Soie silk – the design is stitched on white 14-count perforated paper. The backing card is the same pale blue floral card I used for the Flower Power ATC and cut the edges with the same fancy-edged scissors, but turned the other way for a different finish. Finally, I added three glittery butterfly embellishments which are raised from the card by using 3D sticky foam for a bit of added depth.

The design is from the December 2009 issue of CrossStitcher Magazine – Art Nouveau ABC by Diane Machin. It was the featured Alphabet of the Month.

Group: Addicted to Cross Stitch ATCs
Theme: Pigs
Stitched by: Me!
Sent to: Anna Itsma, Netherlands
Information: This is my first ATC for exchange with this group and I adore pigs, so I wanted to stitch something sweet. Pigs often get a bad rep for being stinky and dirty, so This Little Piggy is pristinely clean and sweetly scented as I once more used my rose-scented DMC on white 18-count aida. I covered the plain white backing card with some pretty pink hand-made paper and added a flower cut from some wrapping paper in the bottom left corner. Next I cut the edges with wavy-edged scissors and finished it all off by adding some tiny pink crystal embellishments (the top one is a tiny heart).

The design is part of a larger farmyard sampler (Sheep, Pig and More) from Cross Stitchers Club. I added the text myself.

Group: Cross Stitch ATCs
Theme: Flower Power
Stitched by: Rachel Bailey, Wales, UK
Sent to: Me!
Information: This very clever and effective Flower Power ATC was designed by Rachel especially for this exchange. I love how the lettering is incorporated into the centre of the flower – ingenious! The colours are so cheery and vibrant – they really pop!

Group: Cross Stitch ATCs
Theme: Letter B
Stitched by: Emma Rowlett, Telford, UK
Sent to: Me!
Information: This cute snake looped through the letter is just so sweet! I love how Emma carried the theme off the fabric with the stickers spelling “hisss”, and the wavy-edged card – so effective.

Group: Addicted to Cross Stitch ATCs
Theme: Pigs
Stitched by: Karen Beaton, Melton, Australia
Sent to: Me!
Information: I adore this rainy day pig splashing in the puddles. And those rainbow-coloured raindrops are so gorgeous and sparkly. Just adorable through and through!

 

3 responses to “ATCs For September

  1. Very wonderful ATCs!!! 😀 I love to see them all! 😀

  2. I am very grateful. I’ll link some more work that I loved. Thanks again. Kisses, Elisa.