5o Things To Do Before I’m 50 – #18

#18 – Get another Tattoo

For my 34th birthday (which is today) my lovely sister, Leni, said she’d pay for the tattoo I’ve been waiting to get for almost 3 years now. Ever since I got pregnant with Xander, I knew that I wanted to get my baby’s initial and date of birth tattooed either on my wrist or my ankle (I also toyed with the idea of getting it on my foot).

Of course, I couldn’t get a tattoo when I was pregnant (not least because we didn’t know if we were having a boy or a girl and therefore didn’t know what the name would be), and then I couldn’t get it done while I was breastfeeding (which I did till Xan was 14 1/2 months old). So I resolved that I was getting it done for my birthday this year, seeing as how I am not pregnant or breastfeeding now!

We managed to get an appointment at Draconian (the only tattoo parlour I’d consider going to – they did my other tattoo for me about, ooh, 8 or 9 years ago now, and it’s great) for 25th September – the day between Xan’s and my birthdays. We were very lucky, as they’re booked pretty much solid till Xmas now!

Cal, my tattooist, was very gentle (and incredibly cute) and did a lovely job of it, while Kevin (who did my other tattoo) distracted me by chatting to me about Terry Pratchett (he knows I’m scared of needles – bless him, he kept me entertained!). I was only in the chair for about 10 or 15 minutes and then I was done!

Thanks also to Leni, who paid for my tattoo and went with me to make sure I didn’t wig out at the last moment while thinking about the needle, and to Megan, who was on the reception and chatted to us both while we waited – she’s lovely!

So, if anyone is in Aberdeen and wants a tattoo, call ahead and try to get an appointment at Draconian on George Street, or call in when they open at 9.30am each morning because they do walk-ins then. You’ll be given a warm welcome and will get some beautiful artwork done.

Comments are closed.