Three ATCs for July

All my ATCs this month went to the same person (Laura Borst), as we organised a private exchange. We agreed to two themes and we would each choose one of them. Laura chose a bear theme, so I stitched this lovely little chap with gingham on his face, ears and paws, holding a flower. The moment I saw him in the magazine, I knew he was perfect! I had a small, thin sheet of cork that I thought went very well with the colour scheme, so I stuck the stitching to that, and then the piece on pale beige card stock, which I think gives a very nice effect. Finally, I chose some letter stickers with metallic gold edging to spell out the word “BEAR”. I used craft scissors with fancy-edge blades to add a bit of interest to the shape. Since there was plenty of room on the back, I also stuck a little bear, which I cut out of some wrapping paper, under the info. I think it turned out rather cute!

The second theme (which I chose) was roses. I don’t usually stitch florals, so this was an excuse to do something a bit different. I found this design online (it was a freebie) and thought it very pretty. I also liked the idea of leaving the scalloped edge,so I stitched it on perforated paper, which enabled me to cut out an unusual shape with no fraying (wonderful stuff!). I added beads instead of stitching the tiny buds and also in the border, just for a bit of texture. I used some pretty floral wrapping paper on the cardstock and added some floral crystal letters to spell out “ROSE”, then used a decorative corner punch to give an unusual shape to the whole thing.

Laura relocated this month, so I decided to add an extra little ATC to welcome her to her new home. This pretty little blackwork design was from a magazine and I couldn’t resist it, despite there being a huge amount of French knots in it (which I hate!). I chose card stock that had a swirly pattern on it in a pale oatmeal colour that coordinated with the fabric, then used a wide, ridged ribbon in deep red (to coordinate with the stitching) and a narrow satin ribbon in black (for contrast) on the two edges.

I hope Laura likes her ATCs as much as I enjoyed stitching them for her!

6 responses to “Three ATCs for July

  1. Awww… How lovely they are!! Nice to meet you! I’m quite a beginner in cross-stitch so viewing stitchers’ blogs could lift up my spirit! πŸ™‚ Keep stitching, you are great!

  2. Thank you. πŸ™‚ I’m something of a beginner myself – although I was taught to cross stitch when I was a teenager, I never really did much and only got into it in February 2009. Since then, I’ve barely put my needle down – LOL!

  3. Hi Kell… πŸ™‚ Thanks for the reply… By the way, I would like to ask about the ATC. I’m currently joining a yahoo groups of stitcher that are living in the same country with me. They are arranging a group ATC. Well, do you think I must design my own pattern, or could I rely on some patterns I could found at the magazines?

    Since I never experienced any ATC before, how’s your feeling if you receive a pattern which you recognized before? Will it disturb your feeling?

    Oh, one more question: I don’t get used with glue, could I just stitch the ATC with a felt? (without any glue)? Thanks!

  4. When it comes to ATCs, pretty much anything goes, so long as you have the right size – ATCs MUST measure 3.5 inches by 2.5 inches, but unless there are specific rules set by the group on theme or materials, then you can do what you like.

    That means you can design your own charts or you can use existing charts. The three I stitched this month were all from existing charts – two were from magazines and one was an online freebie.

    I use double-sided sticky tape to stick the stitched patch onto piece of card stock which is cut to the correct size so that I can write the details on the back (you usually put your name, country and the date on the back, along with any details such as the theme and/or the group and the person it’s being sent to, but your group will be able to give you details on what is expected.

    Most of all, have fun with it – they’re small so they’re quite quick to stitch and they’re very addictive! πŸ™‚

  5. Oooooh I got your point! πŸ™‚ Really wants to try them! Thanks for your helps Kell.. Can’t wait for new works from you!

  6. Thank you. πŸ™‚ There’ll be more finishes posted soon, along with more ATCs as I’ll be taking part in more exchanges. πŸ™‚