A decade in the making…

While clearing out a cupboard yesterday morning, I came across a small package of cross stitching stash from when I used to stitch. I quit cross stitching in early 2000 (not long after beginning to see my hubby) – no particular reason other than I fell out of the habit – and only took it up again in February 2009, so these items had lain untouched for ten years!

In that package, I found several blackwork patterns, a dozen or so flosses, some cream 14-count aida (still in the packet with only a little piece used), and a bookmark that I had finished stitching but never assembled into a finished piece.

I have no idea where I got the pattern (or where it is now – I suspect it’s in my Celtic Cross Stitch book though), nor do I know which threads I used (probably DMC, but no idea of the colour codes), and I think it’s stitched on the piece of cream aida that was missing from the packet.

So this morning, I finally washed, ironed, fringed and backed the bookmark with white self-adhesive felt and here it is. Could this be a record for longest time taken to complete a cross stitched bookmark?

Oh, and if you’re wondering, that’s my copy of Bleak House by Charles Dickens that it’s lying across in the photo.

2 responses to “A decade in the making…

  1. Really like the design of that bookmark!

  2. Thank you, Albastitcher. It’s from a book of Celtic Cross Stitch Designs I bought about 10 years ago from a 2nd hand book shop. 🙂