Subversive Samplers

I’ve been trying my hand at designing some “subversive” samplers and it turns out it’s a lot of fun!

Circular Mini WTF? –  I designed this one with my sister, Leni, in mind. It’s a very small design stitched on white 16-count aida in various shades of purple and finished by popping it in a little round frame which is then topped with a purple ribbon. It took no time at all to stitch and was a fun way to fill a dull evening.

NATO Phonetics Subversive Sampler – Again, I went with the old favourite “WTF?”, but this time I used NATO phonetics and surrounded it with a simple, but pretty, little border. It’s stitched on white 14-count aida in DMC 69 floss, which is a variegated floss in shades that run from pale peach to deep russet.

PMS and Chocolate Subversive Sampler – I designed this sampler at a very specific time of the month when I was feeling particularly grumpy and had no chocolate in the house! I chose a colour scheme that would reflect the chocolate theme, so this sampler is stitched on latter-coloured 28-count evenweave (stitched over two) in DMC linen threads (for that “traditional” feel) in chocolate and caramel shades.

I plan to hang the last two samplers in my hallway – I think they’ll make any visitors smile.

All three designs are available to download for FREE at my Kincavel Krosses design blog. If anyone else stitches them, I’d love to see what variations they make on the themes.

Comments are closed.