Assissi Birthday Card and Aquarius/Initial Keyring

Design: from Flower Power by Maria Diaz
Materials: white 14-count perforated paper; various Red Heart and freebie flosses; decorative paper; metallic card; card flower

My friend, Slav’ka, is a big fan of cross stitched items, so I decided to surprise her with a cross stitched birthday card (Happy birthday, Slav’ka!). The design is part of a larger, nine-block Assisi design which was in a booklet that came free on Cross Stitcher Magazine a while back and I had been dying to try it out, so I selected four of the blocks and stitched them on perforated paper using various flosses I had to hand. The pink metallic card showed through the holes on the design, so I backed it with some pale blue decorative paper, leaving a small overlap, and then finished the card by adding a pale pink glittery card flower which was a similar shape to the stitched ones.


Design:
Kell Smurthwaite
Materials: ecru 14-count aida; Trebla 51 variegated floss; soft toy stuffing; keyring hoop; ribbon

Also for Slav’ka’s birthday, I thought I’d stitch this little keyring with her initial and zodiac sign (Aquarius). As the designs were very simple and small, it didn’t take long to stitch them and then I just whip-stitched the two pieces together, back to back, filling it with toy stuffing and stitching the piece of ribbon (already looped through the keyring hoop) into place.

2 responses to “Assissi Birthday Card and Aquarius/Initial Keyring

  1. I see the Flower Power here done by Rachel Bailey. I don’t do Facebook or Printerest but wonder how to get a hold of her about the pattern. I’m starting a 60’s wall and it’s the best one I found.
    Thanks for any help.

    • I’m not sure I understand – the flower power design is by Maria Diaz and stitched by me – no Rachel Bailey involved anywhere at all. As staed, it was in a booklet that came free with Cross Stitcher Magazine – I can’t remember which issue, unfortunately, and I can’t find the boklet now.