Recipe: Perfect Pancakes

My pancakes got eaten before I thought to take a photo!

Although I adore crepes, I very rarely make them, saving them for those occasions when I just can’t do without one. One such occasion is Pancake Day, or Shrove Tuesday. I don’t observe the day as a religious date (the last day before Lent begins), but as an excuse to indulge in one of my favourite foods without any of the guilt traditionally associated with eating fried foods.

For as long as I can remember, our family has used the Be-Ro recipe for the basic pancake.

Pancakes / Crepes
Prep time: 20 minutes
Cooking time: 5-8 minutes per crepe
Serves: 6

Ingredients:
4 oz plain flour
pinch salt
1 medium egg
1/2 pint milk
cooking oil (for frying)

Directions:

  1. Sift the flour and add the salt
  2. Beat the egg into the milk
  3. Gradually pour the egg and milk into the flour and salt, whisking it through (the end consistency should be smooth and like single cream)
  4. Set aside in the fridge for at least 15 minutes (this lets it settle)
  5. Heat a little cooking oil in a frying pan, swirling it to cover the whole base
  6. When sizzling hot, pour a little batter into the centre of the pan and swirl it round
  7. When the edges of the crepe are dry, flip over (either with a spatula or by using the traditional flipping method of custom!) and fry on the reverse till golden
  8. Serve

The Verdict:
My pancakes (and those that my Mam and Grom make) have seldom been less than perfect – if there’s ever a crepe that doesn’t turn out as good as the rest, it’s usually the very first one and usually because I haven’t let the pan get hot enough before pouring in the batter.

We use a variety of toppings in our house – hubby likes golden syrup drizzled over his and Xander likes a little Nutella spread on his, but I love the traditional sugar and lemon combination best of all and if we’re having pancakes as a dessert, this is how I almost always have mine (although if I have them in the summer, I like to top them with strawberries and whipped cream). However, on the other rare occasions I make them, I tend to have them with a savoury accompaniment, topping them with curry or chilli and I can heartily recommend trying a crepe in place of rice for these meals.

I can’t see us ever changing the recipe we use – it’s worked wonderfully fr at least three generations of my family (I shall have to ask if my Great Grandma used this recipe too) and I will teach it to my own children as well.

And because we love pancakes so much, we gobbled them all up before I thought to take a photograph, so the ones above aren’t mine! Anyway, the recipe is a definite 5/5!

Comments are closed.