Happy Hallmark Holiday!

It’s 14th February – St. Valentine’s Day – and people everywhere are hoping to get a card saying “I love you” from a significant other or secret admirer.

Up until the time I started seeing my husband, I used to get at least one card every year, sometimes two or three, but that all came to an abrupt halt when Dale and I got together. You see, Dale thinks Valentine’s Day is a “Hallmark Holiday” – an unneccessary one spawned by the greetings card industries to play on our insecurities and desire to be loved. Each year, I would eagerly await a lovely card, only to be told, “I don’t need a special day to tell you how much I love you.”

He’s right, of course. And Dale tells me and shows me every day that I am loved and special, so why do I still want a card on V-Day?

I still gave Dale a card every single year. Sometimes I bought them, other times I made them, but he got one each year without fail.

Last year I got my first ever Valentine’s Day card from Dale. He made it himself and left it on the mantlepiece for me to find. I was over the moon. I can only assume the catalyst for this change of heart was the birth of Xander the previous September.

This year I have TWO cards – one from my lovely hubby and the other from my gorgeous son (obviously, he had a little help from his Daddy in picking it out and writing it).

I feel like the most loved woman on the planet!

Valentine’s Day Card
Design:
A Tudor Rose Valentine by Debbie Draper Designs
Materials: Pale blue 28-count evenweave from Polstitches; Trebla 50 floss (variegated blue); pewter charms from The Works; C5 (folded-size) size blue card (magazine freebie); red flock stick-ons (magazine freebie)

I stitched the design in a single strand over one on 28-count evenweave so that it would be small enough to fit on a card, so the stitches are very tiny, but I think it looks pretty good. I replaced a few of the smaller heart motifs with pewter charms to personalise the design a little, frayed the edges of the fabric and used double-sided tape to affix it to the card.

One response to “Happy Hallmark Holiday!

  1. aw, so sweet! lucky you.
    enjoy the day 🙂