Recipe: Broccoli and Stilton Soup

Broccoli and Stilton Soup
Prep time: 5 minutes
Cooking time: 20-25 minutes
Serves: 2 x super-large / 3 x generous / 4 x dinner party starter

Ingredients:
250g broccoli florets
1 small onion
Tsp olive oil
500mls water
1 vegetable or chicken stock cube
200mls skimmed milk
100g stilton
Pinch salt and black pepper

Instructions:

  1. Remove the thickest stalks and steam the broccoli florets for 10-15 minutes till tender
  2. Dice the onion and lightly fry in the olive oil till softened but not browned
  3. Add the stock cube and a pinch of salt and black pepper to the water used for steaming the broccoli and top up to 500mls, add the milk
  4. Add the broccoli and onion to the stock and milk
  5. Heat till it begins to simmer
  6. Add the stilton and simmer for 10 minutes till melted DO NOT BOIL OR THE CHEESE WILL GO STRINGY
  7. Use a hand blender or put in a food processor and blend till smooth
  8. Serve garnished with a little crumbled stilton and some freshly-ground black pepper

The Verdict:
Oh. My. Word. I’ve never tasted broccoli and stilton soup before, but this is my new favourite soup!

I did a little research and looked at various recipes online, but cobbled together my own recipe based on what I had in my kitchen (I go grocery shopping on a Sunday, so here we are on Friday and my stocks are starting to run low!). Because I used skimmed milk rather than the cream that many recipes call for, this soup was lovely and light, and despite the large quantity of cheese I added (I love the stuff, so I couldn’t resist), it has quite a delicate flavour and isn’t overpoweringly “cheesy”. I don’t like blue cheeses, so I used creamy white stilton and it worked beautifully

Lightly steaming the broccoli meant it retained its lovely, fresh colour, rather than going dingy as it sometimes does if boiled for too long.

The recipe will make two super-large, full-on dinner-sized portions; three regular, fine-for-lunch sized portions; or four dinner party starter-sized servings, and I really do believe that if I served this at a dinner party I’d be asked for the recipe, as it really is delicious.

I don’t usually blow my own trumpet but “toot-toot-toot!” A resounding 5/5 recipe that I’ll be making regularly.

Comments are closed.