Recipe: Egg Custard Tart

My egg custard – a bit of a disaster!

This was a family favourite throughout my childhood and Grom used to bake one for every family gathering. I always went back for seconds. I’m hoping to find the perfect recipe to emulate the one from my early years…

Recipe: Egg Custard Tart
Serves: 8 – 10
Prep time: 35 – 40 minutes
Cooking time 1 hour*

Pastry:
6 oz self raising flour
3 oz lard
¾ oz caster sugar
2 tbsp milk

Filling:
4 eggs
3 egg yolks
3 oz caster sugar
1 pt milk
1 tsp vanilla essence
grated nutmeg

Directions:

  1. Rub the lard into the flour to a crumbly consistency then stir in the ¾ oz caster sugar
  2. Gradually stir in the 2 tbsp of milk with a metal knife
  3. Bring together with hands then wrap in cling film and let pastry rest in fridge for 30 minutes
  4. Preheat oven to 150C and lightly grease a deep pie dish
  5. Whisk the eggs and 3 oz caster sugar together
  6. Add the milk and vanilla essence and whisk again
  7. Roll out pastry thinly and ay into pie dish
  8. Pour filling into pastry case and sprinkle grated nutmeg on top
  9. Bake for 1 hour* till filling is set but still wobbly in the middle
  10. Cool before serving

The Verdict:
I based this loosely on two recipes – the pastry from Be-Ro and the filling from Cookery Club, although I made slight modifications to try and make it as I remembered my Grom making it when I was a kid (she only used milk, no cream). The filling mixture came to about 1 ½ pints, so I had to use my deep Pyrex dish.

The results were mixed – it tasted OK (although not as good as I’d hoped), but there must have been a tiny hole in my pastry as the filling all seeped through, meaning that I finished up with the pastry on top and the egg custard on the bottom! Note, I DID NOT blind bake the pastry first simply because my Grom never did!

The filling was nice and smooth, but didn’t taste quite as nice as I had hoped, in fact it still tasted just a tiny touch “eggy” and Xander certainly wasn’t interested in it at all. Therefore, I give this recipe 3/5 (for flavour alone, I’m ignoring the presentation on this occasion!), but I will definitely be playing around and experimenting more with egg custard, both as a tart and on its own, as I’d love to get this one just perfect!

* The recipe I based this on called for the tart to be baked at 150C for an hour, but I ended up having to leave mine in for about half an hour longer, so next time I’ll be guided by my attempt at making Quiche and try a slightly higher temperature.

Comments are closed.