Recipe: Almond Shortie Mini-Bites

Almond Shortie Mini-Bites
Serves: 50
Prep time: 15 minutes
Cooking time: 30-35 minutes

Ingredients:
1 oz ground almonds
8 oz plain flour
6 oz butter
3 oz caster sugar
2 tsp almond essence

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 180C and lightly grease baking tray
  2. Mix together the ground almond and flour, then rub in the butter to a crumbly consistency
  3. Mix in the sugar and almond essence
  4. Bring together in a dough and turn out onto a floured surface
  5. Roll out to ½ cm thickness and cut into rounds using a small cookie cutter (I used my 1 ½ inch cutter)
  6. Place on the baking tray (slightly spaced apart) and bake for 30-35 minutes
  7. When cooked, let them rest on the baking tray for 5 minutes before transferring them to a wire rack to cool

The Verdict:
I didn’t have enough ground almonds for the almond biscuits recipe, and I wanted to try something out that I could use for parties, so I adapted the 3-6-9 Shortbread recipe and decorated these mini biscuits in four different ways – some with cherries, some with almonds, some drizzled with melted chocolate and some half-dipped in chocolate. They are definitely very more-ish and because they’re just little, they’re literally bite-sized morsels perfect for parties or for boxing up as foodie-gifts (which I think I might do in the run-up to Xmas!). A very tasty 5/5!

5 responses to “Recipe: Almond Shortie Mini-Bites

  1. I am actually looking for a good pecan pie recipe. My Granny used to make them for all the holidays, but she got dementia before I could actually get the recipe. DH’s family never bakes ANYTHING for the holidays but ham and turkey…so I have tried to add this tradition into theirs. Let me know if you come across a good recipe! 😀

  2. Will do – I would LOVE a good pecan pie recipe! SO if YOU spot one, let me know!

  3. I called my sister and asked if she knew kinda how Granny made them as I can find tons of recipes but they are all slightly different. SHE said that Granny used the recipe on the back of the Karo Syrup bottle. The problem is that there is a Light Kayro Syrup and a Dark…but they are identical with the exception of how many nuts (1 1/2 cups or 1 1/4 cups)…so just pick the syrup you like better:

    1 cup Karo Corn Syrup
    3 Eggs
    1 cup water
    2TBS margarine or butter, melted
    1 tsp vanilla
    1 1/4 cup pecans
    1 9 inch unbaked deep dish pie crust

    Stir first 5 ingredients together, then mix in pecans.

    Pour into crust and bake at 350 degrees for 50-55 minutes.

    I know you will have to convert the stuff since you aren’t in the US…but that is the basic recipe that my sister says my Granny used. Change it how you need to. I know some people use molasses or maple syrup…not sure what you have there since I am sure the brand Karo isn’t the same there as it is here.

    Try it out, change it how you need to and if you do try it let me know how it goes!! I am going to try it either for Thanksgiving (next week) or Christmas…

  4. I’ve never seen Karo Corn Syrup (or ANY corn syrup over here, so I’ll have to do a bit of research, but this recipe sounds great – thank you! 🙂

  5. You might have to experiment then. Like I said, some recipes call for maple syrup, some for molasses. You might can use honey…but in doing that you may have to experiment with what is best, what is available to you, and how much since some of the syrups are sweeter than the others…

    Here is one with honey you can try, or you can substitute the one I gave you with honey since the one below calls for the same amount of honey as Karo syrup:

    Ingredients

    * 1 cup honey
    * 3 eggs, beaten
    * 3 tablespoons butter
    * 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
    * 1 cup chopped pecans
    * 1 pinch ground nutmeg
    * 1 recipe pastry for a 9 inch single crust pie

    1. In a saucepan bring the honey to a boil. Quickly beat the eggs into the honey. Add butter, vanilla, nuts, and nutmeg. Pour into the pie shell.
    2. Bake at 325 degrees F (165 degrees C) for 25 minutes or until set.