Recipe: Very Ginger Snaps

Hang onto your tastebuds – these are spicy bad boys!

Very Ginger Snaps
Serves: 20 – 30
Prep time: 10 minutes
Cooking time: 20 minutes

Ingredients:
225g self raising flour
1 tsp ground cinnamon
3 tsp ground ginger
125g butter, cubed and chilled
100g caster sugar
100g golden syrup

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 180C and lightly grease baking tray
  2. Sift together the flour and spices, rub in the butter to a crumbly consistency, then stir in the sugar
  3. Heat the syrup till just warm, add to the flour mixture and stir to form a stiff dough
  4. Shape into small balls, space them out on the baking tray and press them down with your fingers
  5. Bake for 20 minutes
  6. Remove from oven and leave to “rest” on the baking tray for 10 minutes
  7. Cool on a wire rack

The Verdict:
I adapted this recipe from one I found in the November 2009 issue of the free Asda magazine.

The original recipe called for bicarbonate of soda, but I didn’t have any, so I omitted it, and I increased the amount of ginger because I like a very strong flavour (only two teaspoons were listed). On top of that, I increased the cooking time because after the 10 minutes that were stated, they were still raw. However, with my modifications these turned out absolutely, tastebud-explodingly gorgeous! They’re crisp on the outside and slightly soft in the middle and the flavour packs plenty of punch too. These will become regulars in our house for sure, although I may up the baking time just a little more to see if I can get them to be crunchy all the way through! A ginger-tastic 5/5!

Comments are closed.