Recipe: Cinnamon Snaps

Cinnamon Snaps - 07.11.09

This is a variation on the Be-Ro recipe for Ginger Snaps because my sister (who is one of my main taste testers) doesn’t like ginger, so I changed the recipe to a different spice!

Cinnamon Snaps:
Serves: 30
Prep time: 10 minutes
Cooking time: 20 minutes

Ingredients:
8 oz self raising flour
pinch salt
2 tsp ground cinnamon*
4 oz caster sugar
3 oz butter
4 oz golden syrup
1 medium egg, beaten

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 180C and lightly grease baking tray
  2. Mix together the dry ingredients
  3. Warm the butter and syrup (not to melting point of butter, but so it’s very soft) and add to the dry ingredients with the beaten egg and mix well
  4. Place teaspoons of the mixture on baking tray and bake for 20 minutes
  5. Cool on a wire rack

The Verdict:
These are nothing short of delicious – slightly crisp around the edges but soft and light in the centre. The cinnamon really works well, but these would be equally as good with either ginger or mixed spice. The original recipe only calls for one teaspoon of spice (ginger in that case) but I like a stronger flavour so doubled the amount and it really worked well – to be honest, I don’t think one teaspoon of ginger would have been gingery enough for my tastes either!

When dropping the mixture onto the baking tray, I kept my hands wet so I could shape the mixture a little without it sticking to me, and had to leave plenty of spreading room because these really do spread a lot (I still had to separate most of mine with a spatula). The other thing to make sure of is to transfer them immediately to the rack for cooling as they are easier to get off the baking tray without them breaking and then they will “set” a bit more on the rack. They don’t take long to cool down and can be transferred to an air-tight container within ten minutes.

Xander wasn’t too keen on the cinnamon, but Dale loved his. Leni will be coming round tomorrow for hers, so I shall have to wait to hear her verdict, but I think these will become regulars in our house with a variety of different spices as the base. A definite 5/5!

4 responses to “Recipe: Cinnamon Snaps

  1. Delurking to say that I’m loving all this domesticity. Great to have recipe reviews. Definitely planning to try some of these out.

  2. Thanks for stepping out of the shadows and leaving a comment. If you do try any of the recipes, let me know how you get on with them! 🙂

    I’ll be making an apple pie next week, so there’ll be another recipe up then.

    I’m glad someone else is getting a kick out of my turning over a new leaf – my hubby thinks it’s great – LOL!

  3. these sound yummy!
    check out my food blog and tell me what you think:
    http://thegodscake.wordpress.com

    Michael

  4. Thanks for your comment, Michael. I’ve just been having a lok at your blog and the Xmas pudding sounds delicious! I’ll be checking back to see what else you have on there! 🙂