Recipe: Chocolate Biscuits

Chocolate Biscuits 30.10.09Gotta have ice-cold milk with those cookies!

I’m so excited with all my baking experimentation that this blog is in danger of becoming over-run by recipes! I just can’t help myself, as I keep finding recipes I’m dying to try and today is no different. We’re having a few family members over this afternoon and I thought that I’d like to offer some home-baked goodies to have with our cuppa, so I’ve borrowed another recipe from Be-Ro and made a batch of choccie biccies to go with the shortbread from yesterday’s session.

Chocolate Biscuits
Serves: 20
Prep time: 5 minutes
Cooking time: 20 minutes

Ingredients:
8oz self raising flour
4oz caster sugar
3 tbsp cocoa powder (sifted)
4oz butter
5 tbsp milk
1 tsp vanilla essence
– chocolate glace icing
– grated chocolate

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 180C and lightly grease a baking tray
  2. Mix together flour, sugar and cocoa powder (I used Bournville because it’s my favourite!) and mix well
  3. Rub in the butter to a crumbly consistency
  4. Add the vanilla essence and milk then mix well
  5. Knead to a smooth, firm dough
  6. Turn out onto a floured surface, roll out to 1/2 cm thickness and cut into rounds with a medium-sized cookie cutter
  7. Place on the baking tray and bake for 20 minutes
  8. Cool on a rack
  9. Decorate with chocolate glace icing (see below) and grated chocolate (I used a few chocolate orange segments because that was what I had handy)
  10. Leave to set

Chocolate Glace Icing
Ingredients:
3oz icing sugar
1oz cocoa powder (sifted)
1 tbsp warm water

Directions:

  1. Mix the icing sugar and cocoa powder
  2. Add the water and mix well – the consistency should be thick enough to coat the back of a spoon
  3. Drop onto the biscuits with a teaspoon and spread with a knife
  4. Leave to set

The Verdict:
My hubby and I thought it only fair to test these out before serving them to guests! Truth be told, while they were cooking they smelled divine and once decorated they became incredibly difficult to resist, so we grabbed one each and had a bit of a nibble. Xander toddled over and asked for a bite too, so I gave him a tiny bit of mine. He immediately wolfed it down (making definite “Mmmmm!” noises) and asked for another bite (he does this by leaning in towards the biscuit with his mouth gently open). I offered it to him again, thinking he would take another delicate little morsel, but I was wrong – he managed to snaffle half my biscuit in one mouthful and dashed off with it, leaving me quite shocked and bereft of biscuit!

Needless to say, these are a winner with all three of us. I’m hopeful that our family will also enjoy them as much as we did. This is another keeper with a great score of 5/5!

Comments are closed.