Recipe: 3-6-9 Shortbread

3-6-9 shortbread - 29.10.09My favourite way to enjoy shortbread – with a glass of ice-cold milk!

Another adaptation here. The original recipe is from Be-Ro (my Mam used to have a battered old Be-Ro recipe book and this site appears to have all those wonderful recipes from my childhood listed for me to recreate now – hurrah!). I’ve renamed it to remind me of the quantities so I can make it at the drop of a hat without having to refer to my recipe book.

3-6-9 Shortbread
Serves: 20
Prep time: 5 minutes
Cooking time: 35-40 minutes

Ingredients:
3oz sugar
6oz soft butter
9oz plain flour
tsp vanilla essence (if desired)

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 160C and lightly grease a baking tray
  2. Mix the flour and sugar together (add the vanilla essence if desired) then rub in the butter
  3. Knead together to a smooth, firm dough
  4. Roll to 3/4cm thickness and cut out rounds (I used my medium cookie cutter)
  5. Place on the baking tray and bake for 35-40 minutes or until lightly golden
  6. Cool on a rack

The Verdict:
This lived up to my childhood memories of homemade shortbread biscuits. And not just mine, either, as my sister came round this afternoon and partook of some shortbread – she declared it “Just how Mam used to make!”

The addition of a few drops of vanilla essence was lovely and I think that next time I’ll also sprinkle a little sugar on top before baking – this recipe is a definite keeper! I’m also definitely going to try variations on it – things like adding chocolate chips or pieces of glace cherry – just for a change now and then. These shortbread biscuits will be made many a time in my kitchen – even Xander had a nibble and immediately went all wide-eyed while mumbling “Mmmmmm!” A solid 5/5!

One response to “Recipe: 3-6-9 Shortbread

  1. Pingback: Recipe: Almond Shortie Mini-Bites « Diary of a Domestic Goddess