Recipe: Chocolate Chip Shortbread

Chocolate Shortbreads

Time to try my hand at another round of baked treats! I found the basic recipe at CBeebies I Can Cook (Katie’s Shortbread) and modified it a little because a) I wanted to make more of them and b) I didn’t have glace cherries so I decided to make chocolate chip ones instead.

Chocolate Chip Shortbread
Serves: 10-12
Prep Time: 5-10minutes
Cooking Time: 15-20 minutes

Ingredients:
120g plain flour
80g butter
40g caster sugar
30g chocolate chips
1tsp vanilla essence

Directions:

  1. Preset oven to 180C
  2. Rub butter and flour together
  3. Add sugar, chocolate chips and vanilla essence and mix
  4. Squeeze the dough together (if it isn’t holding as well as you’d like, try adding a tiny drop of milk, but only a tiny drop!)
  5. Roll out on a floured surface to about 5mm thick (or until you can “feel” the chocolate chips when you’re rolling) and cut out with a cookie cutter (then recombine scraps, roll out again and cut more rounds till all the dough is used up)
  6. Place shortbread rounds on a lightly greased baking tray and bake for 15-20 minutes
  7. Cool on a rack

The Verdict:
This recipe is ludicrously simple – almost impossible to get wrong! The dough came together and rolled out smoothly and smelled divine when baking. I was also pleased with how they tasted – sweet and chocolaty, but not too sweet or overpoweringly chocolaty, which is always good, and the texture was soft and light. All in all a very pleasant shortie, but not a “crisp” shortbread biscuit as I was expecting (that is where it loses a point). Still, overall I very much like these and will most likely make them again, at least until I find a “crisp” shortbread recipe! I’d rate this one 4/5.

Comments are closed.