WWW Wednesday

WWW Wednesdays are hosted by MizB over at Should Be Reading.To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

* What are you currently reading?
* What did you recently finish reading?
* What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading?
Georgette Heyer – Regency Buck
I’ve borrowed this one from a colleague. Stephen Fry once mentioned on a TV programme that The Reluctant Widow by Georgette Heyer was one of his favourite books, and I resolved I would give it a try. My colleague offered to loan me this one as she’s just finished reading it, so I couldn’t refuse! I’ll get to the other one another time and see if I agree with Mr Fry!

Lew Wallace – Ben-Hur (e-book)
I’lm reading this e-book for discussion with the rest of Kindle Klub this month, but so far it’s like reading a novelised version of the New Testament, which I’m not particularly enjoying. I’m not sure how much further I’ll continue with this one. Unless it picks up very soon, it will be ditched, I’m afraid!

What did you recently finish reading?

Terry Pratchett – Snuff (Discworld 39) Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
I was so excited about this novel as it’s a Vimes book and his are always my favourites. Till now. Don’t get me wrong, I did enjoy it, but nowhere near as much as the others and therefore not as much as I had hoped and expected. I don’t know what it was about it exactly, but it just didn’t have the same flow as usual – perhaps it’s the switch Pratchett has had to make from typing to dictating. It’s good, but others have been better. Vimes is still Vimes, but I feel he’s mellowing a bit with age and fatherhood, and the rest of the watch were barely mentioned – there were a few bit-parts and one-liners for a couple of the usual crew, but they were mostly left out and Vimes took the helm, so to speak. Usually, this would be a fine thing indeed, but on this occasion, I felt it lacked a little sparkle.

I’m still looking forward to the publication of The Long Earth by Terry Pratchett and Stephen Baxter in June though!

Charles Dickens – Great Expectations (e-book) Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
I enjoyed the earlier parts of this novel, but as time went on I found myself less and less engaged in the plot and characters. I no longer cared about Miss Havesham; I couldn’t understand why Pip still pined for cold, aloof Estella; and I wasn’t bothered by Pip distancing himself from his old friends and family. Before reading this, I knew the basics of the story, but there’s a lot here that always gets cut in adaptations, and I can see why as a lot of it was, to be perfectly frank, very dull. The humour I found in the first half of the book gave way to the doldrums and I felt like I was wading through the second half of the book like wearing lead boots in a lake of treacle. It felt like it took forever and by the time I neared the end of it, I was wishing it would hurry up and reach a conclusion. So, overall, I was rather disappointed by this, but I will not let it put me off trying more Dickens…

What do you think you’ll read next?
Malinda Lo – Huntress
Prequel to Ash, which I loved.

Simon Scarrow – Praetorian
Eleventh in the fantastic Romans series.

These are the last of my Xmas gift books!

7 responses to “WWW Wednesday

  1. Hi Kell!
    Thanks for stopping by my blog! :)

    Valentina
    http://www.peekabook.it

  2. I’ve always wanted to read Great Expectations, but there are so many books to be read…
    Here’s My WWW

  3. Loving the cover for Huntress! Sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy Snuff or Great Expectations as much as you thought you would! At least you can say you tried!

    Here’s mine:

    http://wickedlybookish.blogspot.com/

    I’m also having a giveaway of 3 singed copies of Somebody Tell Aunt Tillie She’s Dead and 5 ebook copies. 7th -13th only! So come check it out!

    http://www.wickedlybookish.blogspot.com/2012/03/feelin-lucky-giveaway-hop.html

  4. I get the Heyers confused, sometimes, except for a few whose titles stick with the story better in my mind. But now that I know Stephen Fry’s fave I have to go and read (reread?) it!

  5. I find Dickens work dismal and dreary…but I love his first book, Pickwick Papers! It’s his first book and his only comedy (maybe he was young and less jaded?). It’s long, but worth it! One of my favorite books!