Tuesday Memes

Teaser Tuesday
Regency Buck by Georgette Heyer

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Just do the following:

1. Grab your current read
2. Open to a random page
3. Share two “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
4. BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
5. Share the title and author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My teaser:

She was a fine young woman, rather above the average height, and had been used for the past four years to hearing herself proclaimed a remarkably handsome girl. She could not, however, admire her own beauty, which was of a type she was inclined to despise.

page 1, Regency Buck by Georgette Heyer

Synopsis:
It is in regrettable circumstances that beautiful Judith Taverner and her brother Peregrine first encounter Julian St. John Audley. The man, they both agree, is an insufferably arrogant dandy. But unfortunately for them, he is also the Fifth Earl of Worth, a friend of the Regent and, quite by chance, their legal guardian …

What I think of it so far:
Im’ barely past the first page, so I cannot comment. However, Stephen Fry lists one of Ms Heyer’s novels among his favourites, so she can’t be all that bad as Mr Fry is never wrong!

~***~

Top Ten Tuesday
Top Ten Favourite Covers

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created and hosted at Broke and Bookish.

I thought that for this week I’d showcase some of the the most stunning covers I’ve come across recently. Many of them have been featured as my entry for the Cover Crazy meme in which I participate each Monday, but some others are just books I noticed or read that have, I think, striking and/or beautiful covers. I hope you’ll like them too:

Empire State
by Adam Christopher

The Sisters Brothers
by Patrick DeWitt

 

The Child Thief
by Brom

The Plucker
by Brom

 

Sisters Red
by Jackson Pearce

Tom-All-Alone’s
by Lynn Shepherd

 

The Invention of Hugo Cabret
by Brian Selznick

Mira, Mirror
by Mette Ivie Harrison

 

The Snow Empress
by Laura Joh Rowland

The Evolution of Bruno Littlemore
by Benjamin Hale

20 responses to “Tuesday Memes

  1. Regency Buck sounds fascinating – can’t wait to see what you think of it!

  2. Love the Snow Empress cover. =)

  3. I have a few Georgette Heyer books on my wish list although I’ve never read any of her books :-)

  4. I just love The Sisters Brothers cover. Thanks for stopping by.

  5. I’m still working on my top ten, but great teaser. Although I don’t know if i’d want to be called handsome, hmm. Here’s my Teaser

  6. I haven’t read any of these. Great teaser! Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  7. Gorgeous covers. My fave from your list is Hugo Cabret.

  8. Well, if Mr. Fry said it…how can it be bad? :)Thanks for sharing, I’m of to look for it.
    My teaser is from The Big Sleep

  9. You’re definitely right, Mr. Fry can’t be wrong! :D Guess I have to check this out some day!
    Thanks for sharing and thanks for stopping by! :)

    Monaliz @ Mind Reading?

  10. Great teaser…makes me very curious about the book.

    Here’s MY TUESDAY MEMES POST

  11. Regency sounds like a book I’d like. Love all your cover choices!

  12. Lovely Covers! I think covers are commercials for the story within. Enjoy your reading. kaye—the road goes ever ever on

  13. I love the Sister’s Red cover and the Child Thief. I wanted to read both of them as soon as I saw the covers! Great picks this week!

    Here’s my Top Ten.

  14. I like Sisters Red and Child Thief. Great covers!

  15. These are books that I would normally not read but I have to say that their covers are very interesting!

  16. It’s so fun seeing people’s different tastes in book covers. I’ve picked up Sisters Red a thousand times because of the cover but I’ve yet to read it.

  17. Hi! Thanks for dropping by my blog!

    Interesting teaser.

  18. I love the Mira, Mirror cover!

    Thanks for stopping by! :)

  19. Ohh very nice teaser and cover.