Monday Memes

It’s Monday, What are you reading?

Hosted by Sheila at One Person’s Journey through a World of Books.

KEY:
E– E-book Challenge
G – 2012 Genre Challenge
BFF – Bookie Friends’ Favourites Challenge
BL – Bucket List Challenge
S – Off The Shelf Challenge
AZ – A-Z Challenge
C – Classics Challenge
R – Review for author or publisher
K – Reading for Kindle Klub Book Group

Charlaine Harris – Dead Reckoning
The eleventh book in the Southern Vampires (aka True Blood) series. The series went a little off the boil in some of the more recent books, but this one seems to be bringing things back on track. I’m certainly enjoying it a great deal! Harris’s style is very easy to read and her characters are a lot of fun. Borrowed from the library.

Charles Dickens – Great Expectations (E/BL/C)
Till now, I’ve only ever read A Christmas Carol, as I confess I was a little afraid of reading Dickens. However, I am finding this a surprisingly humourous read and am enjoying it a lot more than I thought I would. Let’s just say I now have great expectations of this novel. I’m sorry, I just couldn’t resist the pun! *shame*

~***~

Cover Crazy

Hosted by The Book Worms

What I love:
Again with the mostly monochrome and sharp images! This time we have a classy grey brickwork background and ornate window, with a black chandelier. The only touch of colour is in the candle flames and roses, both of which are pink. And check those cute little black bats. And the classy, slightly Gothic font for the title. Isn’t it just gorgeous? It’s actually the second in a series, so I’m going to have to look at both, as well as the new one which will be out later this year.

Synopsis:

Jane Boyle married her prince charming and moved into his upper east side castle – but she didn’t get her fairy-tale ending

It’s hard to live happily ever after when you discover your demanding and controlling mother-in-law is literally a witch, determined to steal the magical powers you didn’t even know you had. Jane narrowly avoided Lynne Doran’s clutches when she escaped on her wedding day, and has been hiding out in New York City. But she can’t hide forever.

When Jane learns of the one thing Lynne wants most, she sets out to provide it, hoping her good turn will persuade her mother-in-law to stop hunting her. Unfortunately, Jane’s daring plan will send her right back into the witches’ den – the Doran clan’s multistory town house on Park Avenue. But thanks to a tricky spell, blond architect Jane will be transformed into Ella, a dark beauty with a whole new look . . . and all of Jane’s budding powers. Though the stakes are life or death, nobody said ‘Ella’ couldn’t have a little fun along the way, too.

~***~

Musing Mondays

Hosted by Should Be Reading

What is your favorite romantic book –or book that includes a love story? (an adult romance, young adult, kids’ story, anything)

To be honest, I’ve never really been a fan of romances – I tend to find them very difficult to get into as a) the relationships are idealistically unrealistic, and b) the language used tends towards the gushy and/or cringeworthy. I avoid erotica for the same reason.

I’d guess my favourite romantic relationship from a book is the one between Stu Redman and Fran Goldsmith in The Stand by Stephen King. They’re both very “real”, and as neither of them is an angsty teenager, they have a more realistic view of the problems a relationship can face and they really go through the wringer, coping with petty jealousies, fear of abandonment, anger at each other’s actions and the shared grief of potential loss.

I’ve read the book so many times now that they feel like old friends, almost like family, and I love them both.

25 responses to “Monday Memes

  1. I haven’t read any of these books, but your cover crazy’s are always amazing :)

  2. I haven’t read the Stand, since I got too scared and can’t read anything from Stephen King anymore..! :D So Twilight is more suitable for me ;D

    Monaliz @ Mind Reading?

    • The Stand is less a horror and more a study of the human condition. I swear, it’s a brilliant book and I recommend it to anyone. It’s one of my all-time favourites and is certainly King’s magnus opus. :)

  3. I’ve been a little intimidated to jump into the Sookie series since there are just so many books! Did you read the entire series in order?

    • Yes, I did. It’s definitely best to start from the beginning and go from there, because tehre are definite story arcs and some of the books would be ruined for you if you skipped about because you’d already know what was going to happen.

      They’re really good, easy reads though. And in case you’re wondering, the show (True Blood) differs wildly from them. ;)

  4. I think it so cool in your Cover Crazy meme how the chandelier kinda looks like a face.

    Thanks for the visit!

    Renae @ Rolling with the Moments…

  5. That is a gorgeous cover! Hope you enjoy your week, and thanks for visiting my blog.

  6. I like the Sookie Stackhouse series (and True Blood). I agree that she went a little odd (less plot driven) in a couple. My favorite Dickens has to be A Tale of Two Cities. I seem to have read a few of them along the way. Though I tend to avoid “classics” in my reading choices. However, I am a big fan of romance and want at least a touch of it in all the books I read. My favorite couple has to be Eve Dallas and Roarke from J. D. Robb’s In Death series. Happy reading!

  7. Love the cover! The art is gorgeous! <3
    my cover crazy :)

  8. Nice combination of books you’re reading, something light and something more heavy! Probably literally!

    I loved reading The Stand and I thought you’re right about the love story.

    Happy reading!

  9. I read the first book of that series and didn’t realize the next was out yet. I’ll have to look for it.

  10. I don’t put Stephen King and romance in the same sentence but a new view point is good to hear.

  11. Kathleen Fitzgerald

    The Stand ..and interesting choice. But good reasons.

  12. I love Stephen King and The Stand is my all time favorite book of his!

  13. That chandelier is lovely.

  14. Seems a few people are rereading Dickens. I have read him in a long time.

    Have a great week!!

  15. I love the cover you chose! I want that chandelier.

    Reading Lark’s Cover Crazy

  16. I have never read a Charles Dickens book I really should at some point. Hope you enjoy your week of reading :)

  17. Same here. I tend to not love romantic books but I can’t help it when a book is really a good read and swoon-worthy.

    Nice choice for Stephen King, I haven’t read any of his books but he is an admired person in the writing industry.

  18. Well, I’m not so sure I like the cover. I think its because nothing really catches my eye. – Sorry…

  19. Hi! Thanks for the visit to my blog!

    “To be honest, I’ve never really been a fan of romances – I tend to find them very difficult to get into as a) the relationships are idealistically unrealistic, and b) the language used tends towards the gushy and/or cringeworthy. I avoid erotica for the same reason.”

    My feelings exactly! The unrealistically portrayed relationships and most of all the mushy dialogues always tend to put me off romances.

  20. Great answers! I always love Charlaine Harris’ Sookie books.