That’s Life Magazine with offensively misleading headline story…

That’s Life Magazine (a publication I would never buy in the first place, but that’s beside the point) has released an issue with the main cover story headline as follows:

 My warning to Mums – Breastfeeding left me infertile

I am so shocked and angered by this I’ve been compelled to send an email of complaint:

 I am appalled and distressed by the negative message your cover story headline “My warning to Mums – Breastfeeding left me infertile” on your most recent issue.

Whether or not anyone buys this magazine, it is highly irresponsible to emblazon such a false message right across the front cover. I’m aware that magazines such as yours use sensationalism to raise sales, but this is beyond the pale and an insult to mothers who choose to breastfeed their babies.

In future, please do not print such biased and blatantly misleading headlines – it would do you much credit to instead give FACTS:

* Anorexia (which, from all accounts, the Mum in question is a sufferer) can adversely affect fertility.
* Breastfeeding can reduce fertility while you are nursing but does NOT leave you infertile.
* Fertility goes back to normal when weaning occurs and even whilst breastfeeding it is still possible to fall pregnant.

I think it is only fair that an apology be printed on your cover reading “We got it wrong – Breastfeeding does NOT leave you infertile!”

Yours sincerely,
Kell Smurthwaite
(An angry mother who breastfed her son for 14 months!)

I urge others to follow suit and email the publication direct regarding this. If you want to complain to them, please do so using their email address: stories@thatslife.co.uk

Apparently they promise to answer ALL emails, so please do give them lots to answer!

I also urge people to join the Facebook group HERE.

4 responses to “That’s Life Magazine with offensively misleading headline story…

  1. I like you are sick to the back teeth with headlines such as this..I will indeed send an email….and will encourage others likewise..ELiza Keating

  2. wordsfallfrommyeyes

    I never knew they answer ALL emails – so good luck with that. I breastfed, but I stopped before I really wanted to. I thought I “should” stop and didn’t want to make my son dependent and so on, so on. By nature, I would have continued – if people weren’t talking at me.

    • I know just how you felt! The perception about long-term breastfeeding isn’t generally a positive one. I stopped at 14.5 months, but only because my son stopped all by himself. I would have been quite happy to continue longer and I know at least one mother who has continued breastfeeding right through the second year (which I heartily applaud – if both mother and child are happy, then where is the harm?).

      The breastfeeding rate in this country is so low as it is, a headline like this has the potential to damage not only the parenting decisions of those currently nursing, but also those who will become parents in the future. I really hope all the complaints help sort this out!